Tricks to remember Bank Headquarters in India

Public Sector Bank Headquarters in India

Trick : 1
Banks having "OF INDIA" at their Last except UBI : Headquarters - Mumbai

  1. State Bank of India - Mumbai
  2. Bank of India - Mumbai
  3. Central Bank of India - Mumbai
  4. Union Bank of India - Mumbai
  5. IDBI (Industrial Development bank of India) - Mumbai
  6. Dena Bank - Mumbai (This bank don't have 'of india' at last but its Headquarter is in Mumbai)
  • Reserve of India - Mumbai
  • Security & Exchange Board of India - Mumbai

Trick : 2
Banks having "INDIAN" at their starting: Headquarters - Chennai

  1. Indian overseas Bank - Chennai
  2. Indian Bank - Chennai

Trick : 3
Vajay Can Bang - Bangalore

  1. Vijaya Bank - Bangalore
  2. Canara Bank - Bangalore

Trick : 4
Bank having HQ in their own cities

  1. State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur -- Jaipur
  2. State Bank of Hyderabad -- Hyderabad
  3. State Bank of Mysore -- Bengalooru
  4. State Bank of Patiala -- Patiala
  5. State Bank of Travancore -- Thiruvananthapuram
  6. Bank of Baroda - Baroda
  7. Bank of Maharashtra - Pune
  8. Andhra Bank - Hyderabad

Trick : 5
Delhi & Punjabi Girls(Mahila) are good in Commerce

  1. Punjab National Bank - New Delhi
  2. Punjab & Sindh Bank - New Delhi
  3. Bharitya MAHILA Bank - New Delhi
  4. Oriental Bank of commerce - New Delhi

Trick : 6
Allahabad & Kolkata's People are Unite

  1. UCO (United Commercial Bank) - Kolkata
  2. United Bank of India - Kolkata
  3. Allahabad - Kolkata

Trick : #
Two banks which have very uniqueheadquarters

  1. Syndicate Bank - Manipal
  2. Corporation Bank - Mangalore

At the present time there are 27 Public Sector Banks in India which includes 19 Nationalized banks also.
List is as follows :

[1] Public sector bank which are nationalized -
Allahabad Bank
Andhra Bank
Bank of Baroda
Bank of India
Bank of Maharashtra
Canara Bank
Central Bank of India
Corporation Bank
Dena Bank
Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank
Oriental Bank of Commerce
Punjab & Sind Bank
Punjab National Bank
Syndicate Bank
UCO Bank
Union Bank of India
United Bank of India
Vijaya Bank

[2] Public sector bank which are not nationalized -
State Bank and its associate
State Bank of India
State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur
State Bank of Hyderabad
State Bank of Mysore
State Bank of Travancore
State Bank of Patiala
Bhartiya Mahila Bank

Why State Bank and its associate are not nationalized ?

People often get confused about whether SBI is a nationalized bank or not.
SBI is NOT a Nationalized bank. It is a Public Sector Bank. Actually, SBI draws power from State Bank of India Act, 1955. Nationalized banks are the banks which were nationalized in two phases – in 1969 and 1980. These banks were established under Banking Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertakings) Acts, 1970 and 1980. So, these banks are governed by their respective statutes. In 1969, 14 Commercial banks were nationalized and in 1980, 6 more banks were nationalized. But, later in 1993, PNB and New India bank got merged taking the figure of nationalized banks to 19.
Now, couple of interesting question comes to our mind while we talk about nationalization of Banks, we’ll try and answer these questions.

1). Why Nationalization of Banks was done by the Government?
  • To raise public confidence in Banking system
  • Expansion of banking facilities in a uniform manner
  • Provide banking facility in rural and sub-urban areas
  • Sought to end the monopoly control of big industrialists upon the banking system
  • Aimed at giving more credit to priority sectors
  • To reduce regional economic inequalities
  • To ensure enough development funds for the planned growth of the country

2). Why SBI was not nationalized during the waves of Nationalization of Banks in 1969 and 1980?
SBI was already under State control in 1969/1980, vide SBI Act, 1955. So, there was no need of Nationalization of State Bank of India. Banks which were nationalized in 1969/1980 were either owned by private business groups or individual investors.